Daily Archives: February 23, 2009

Elon students talk about ‘Academy Awards’ and ‘Slumdog Millionaire’

by Amy McLeod

On a night dedicated to beautiful gowns, red carpets and celebrity appearances, the highly coveted Best Picture award went to a low budget film about an orphan growing  up in the slums of India.

“Slumdog Millionaire” came out on top Sunday night with eight Oscars including Best Director, Best Editing, and Best Cinematography.

According to an informal survey taken on the campus of Elon University on Monday, 58 percent of the Elon University students, faculty and staff watched the 81st annual Academy Awards. Nearly 100 members of the Elon community were surveyed in the convenience sample.

Community reaction to the Academy Awards

slumdog-millionaire-poster-full2

Sixty-four percent of those surveyed knew that “Slumdog Millionaire” was the Best Picture Award- winner and many felt that it was deserving of that title.

“I was pretty disappointed overall with the Oscars this year,” said sophomore Chris Myers. “I didn’t think Dark Knight got enough recognition.”

“I was most excited to see that ‘Wall-E’ won best animation,” said Rex Waters, Assistant Dean of Students. “I’m sure ‘Slumdog’ is a great movie but I am glad that ‘Wall-E’ won.”

Many viewers were happy that Heath Ledger won the award for Best Supporting Actor for his role as the Joker in “The Dark Knight.”

Most students watched the Academy Awards while also finishing up homework or flipping between other channels.  Homework takes priority on a Sunday night and this week it kept some students from watching the awards.

“I was extremely busy last night because I was away all weekend and I needed to get a lot of homework done,” said Suzanne Uliano. “I wish I could have watched.  I always love seeing all the dresses and seeing who wins.”

Elon student Luke Lovett talk about Slumdog Millionaire and the rest of the Oscar award winners.

‘Slumdog Millionaire” summary and reactions

Sixty-four percent of those surveyed knew that “Slumdog Millionaire” won Best Picture but only 46 percent have seen it.

The film is based on a true story about a man who grew up as a child in the slums of Mumbai, India after losing his mother.  As an 18-year-old, Jamal Malik competes on the Indian version of “Who Wants to be a Millionaire” and his past is exposed when he is accused of cheating.  His story of love and loss turns out to be the key to his success on the show.

“I loved it. I thought it was a ‘Best Picture’ worthy movie,” said sophomore Margaret O’Neill.

While over half of those interviewed had not seen the film, many of them expressed interest in seeing the low budget production after it won eight of the 10 Oscars it was nominated for.

“I want to see it, I hear it’s really good,” said Elon student Henry Cauley. “I know it took a lot of Oscars so I think I probably should see it.  I’ve heard it is really powerful.  Everyone has been talking about it.”

Elon student Maggie O’Neill talks about “Slumdog Millionaire” and her take on it’s awards.